Life After Divorce











{October 1, 2008}   And That’s When the Whores Came In…

Ok, so they probably weren’t whores, but its a good line (Tommy Boy).

After the first year, of living together (year two of our relationship), we learned to get along fairly well.  We still argued a lot, because that is what happens when you take people who were never meant to be and put them together in a one bedroom apartment and try to force a relationship.  I was still in school and working, so we didn’t spend a ton of time together, despite living together.  Our relationship seems to work best that way.

On our 2 year anniversary, we moved into a larger apartment.  I had just graduated college with my Bachelor’s degree and he had a decent job working at the post office.  I was about to start graduate school to work on my Master’s degree.  Things had been pretty good.

One night when I got home from work, I got a really strange phone call asking for “Michael.”  I told her she had the wrong number.  She insisted that she had been called by a Michael from my phone number.  I was immediately suspicious because Steve’s middle name is [wait for it…] Michael.  I immediately questioned him about this and he claimed that he didn’t know what I was talking about and that he hadn’t been talking to anyone.

Now, one phone call… not enough to call Scottland Yard.  But… this trend continued to the point where I was ready to change my number and file a restraining order against anyone who called.  They knew my name, but kept referring to me as a “roommate.”  He kept saying that it wasn’t him.  He said maybe it had been his brother… who had lived with us briefly.  Maybe it was the maintenance man sneaking in during the day… he just couldn’t convince me.  I was uber pissed.  This continued until I finally did change our number.

You would think it would have stopped, right?  I wish.  I don’t know why I didn’t dump him then.  I guess I felt really invested in the relationship.  Comfortable in my misery.  It is sad that we can get that way so quickly where the fear of leaving outweighs what you already know to suck.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
